Skip to content

Yoga & You – January Teachers

January 3, 2010

Sharni Quinn – Asbury, Yoga Teacher

Sharni’s Yoga Story…

Sharni believes that Hatha Yoga is not about touching your toes; it’s about opening up your heart! After being passionate about yoga for 4 years Sharni completed her Yoga Teachers Training in 2007 and became a registered international Yoga Alliance Teacher (RYT200). Sharni is now passing on her knowledge and experiences helping more and more people to take the path towards Health, Wholeness and Happiness. Her classes are about reconnecting with one’s soul, which she explores in a relaxed, down to earth way. She works individually with people to reclaim their sense of Prana, the vital, life-sustaining force of all living beings, bringing balance and health to their lives.”

____________________________________________________________________________________

Tess Simmonds, Yoga Teacher

Tess began teaching Yoga in 2007. She loves sharing her passion for Yoga with others and being able to witness their individual journey.

Tess practised Yoga throughout her own pregnancy and she encourages people to continue and practise Yoga throughout any stage of their lives. Pregnant ladies are welcome to join any of her classes.

Tess’s daughter, Jenna, joins Tess while teaching her postnatal Yoga classes and has seen her love of Yoga growing her child. She already enjoys doing simple playful poses even at the young age of 17 months!

Tess felt a natural pull towards yoga. “Yoga appeals to me as it is a gentle and effective way of keeping healthy at any age or stage of my life. I can feel the benefits of a more balanced state of mind and natural re-alignment in my body through practicing Yoga. I wish to share that with others. In my own way, I feel that I am helping people when I teach Yoga by opening them up to a gentle way of keeping healthy and finding balance in their lives. It is exciting to watch people transform as they start their own journey with Yoga. I think people naturally want to keep themselves healthy but often lack the confidence or know how on how to go about doing that. I like the idea of being able to draw people to something I am passionate about and encouraging them to maintain a Yoga practice in their lives. For me, Yoga is a perfect way to keep healthy mentally and physically throughout any stage of life.”

Styles Taught: | Hatha | Pregnancy | Vinyasa |

__________________________________________________________________________

Diana Sellmeyer, Yoga Instructor

When did you start practicing yoga? In 1997

What Style of Yoga? Iyengar Yoga

My Yoga Story…

I am an Iyengar Yoga teacher living and teaching in Franschhoek. I was introduced to Iyengar Yoga when I moved down to the Cape through a friend who mentioned that there was a wonderful yoga teacher living in Paarl. At that time my husband and I had taken up totally new careers in farming. We were not farmers and we had three city style daughters in tow. Amidst building, farming, settling children etc. I thought Iyengar Yoga might be a quite nice release!

I became a Yoga practitioner under the watchful eyes of Pat Deacon and after three years of practice was lucky enough to go to Pune, India, to the Ramamani Iyengar Yoga Institute. It was an inspiring experience and introduced me to the Iyengar family and the wonderful Indian culture. The special aspect about Iyengar Yoga is its diversity and that it allows people of all abilities and ages to practice it. This is due to the fact that Mr Iyengar over the years designed props in order to help the practitioner maintain body alignment and achieve the “Asana”! Inversions, backbends, twists and forward bends can be performed on all levels by nearly every practitioner. I am very proud to be an Iyengar teacher because BKS Iyengar through his work and teaching has enabled me to teach and inspire my students with this wonderful discipline.

We are very lucky in South Africa to have teachers with the highest Iyengar qualifications. Teachers that have also had close contact with BKS Iyengar since 1973. The many top international teachers that visit us say South African Iyengar Yoga is very “pure”. I am sure this is due to the fact a small number of our senior teachers worked so closely with Mr Iyengar. The knowledge he has imparted to them is relayed to us in the purest form.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Elizabeth Henshall, 56, Restorative Yoga and Yin Yoga Teacher and psychotherapist.

When did you start practicing yoga? I started practicing yoga when I was 21 years old in 1974 – in those days I could easily do the lotus position!

What style of yoga? Hatha Yoga

My Yoga Story…

I was amazed and delighted to find in my very first yoga class that this was something physical I could do easily. I immediately loved it! I then carried on ding it every week for another 2 years. After that I left Scotland and came to live in South Africa and found another yoga teacher in Johannesburg. Again I loved it and have never really stopped doing yoga since then. My greatest gratitude goes to my yoga teacher, Angela, who taught me for many, many years in the UK when I returned there in 1987. She brought a special kindness and soul-warming spirituality to her classes that made a deep impression on me and were a big part of an emotional healing I very much needed at that time.

Sometimes I have taken a break from yoga but sooner or later my body, mind and spirit start letting me know that they all need to be on the mat again! It is with great joy that I step onto the mat each day knowing that I will have time with myself, for myself for the next 90 minutes. Sometimes it is harder than others to make the time and the move to the mat but inevitably the moment I actually put my feet there my heart begins to sing. I trained as a Yoga teacher in Canada and also discovered Restorative Yoga and Yin Yoga during the time I spent there and in the USA. Both of these styles really spoke to me and I think that was to do with the fact that I had been very ill and also that my body, despite some pretty good care over the years, is just older now! It likes the stillness and peace of the two styles and I can feel just how quiet and at peace my heart and spirit become when I practice them. I love to pass this stillness, wellness and quietness on to my students and find that Yoga is a wonderful complement to psychotherapy as it gives us all a way to deepen our self awareness and move along a spiritual pathway if that is the way we wish to go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 9:20 am

    Hi Elizabeth
    Where do you teach Yin Yoga?

    Cherryl

Leave a Reply

