Skip to content

Yoga & You – February Students

February 1, 2010

Christa Engelbrecht. Creditor for a large Architect Firm. 32 Years old.

Before I started my yoga practice, I asked the Universe for someone that would guide and help me on my spiritual path. I wanted to do yoga like it is done in the East, not a commercial Western version thereof. I wanted to learn about yoga philosophy, meditation, pranayama and peaceful, healthy living, more than the actual asanas. Willie Cloete came along and offered all of the above and more. I have been his student for almost two years now and my life has changed so dramatically that I cannot imagine it without yoga. Willie is a patient, gentle teacher who inspires me with knowledge and exercises and I always leave his class feeling peaceful, enriched and very, very grateful.
_____________________________________________________________________________

Andrew Davies – MD Telecommunications Company.

“When did I start practicing Yoga – February 2008

What type of Yoga – Hatha and Vinyasa

My Yoga Story:

My father told me four years ago, in response to a question, “I have only one regret in life – that I did not start Yoga when I was thirty.”  As much as I respect the sage advice of the “all knowing one” I still felt that Yoga was not my scene, I was seriously inflexible, did not want to make a fool of myself and admit I saw it as a quasi religious pastime for those more spiritually inclined.  In 2008 after a run in the morning I stumbled across a beachfront Yoga class with enough hackers present to ensure me a degree of anonymity.

This first class was run by my then and now instructor, Juanita Caprari, and I was hooked.  Why? The immediate benefit of relaxation and flexibility and a brilliant teacher who made me feel at ease with my inability to master standing on my head whilst touching my toes among many other poses.

I have found that Yoga has improved my strength and flexibility to perform better at the sports that I love, particularly surfing.  My work takes me to West and Central Africa and all the stresses of travel, and challenges of working in the region left me knackered, anxious and often frustrated at the end of each working week.

I begin each morning in steamy equatorial Africa with a 30 minute Yoga session, (mobility of the discipline is one of the things that makes Yoga so great), and it makes the world of difference to my state of mind.  When in my home town I religiously try to attend Yoga classes twice a week.  It is the only time that I am able to let go of my thoughts and relax completely and has made an enormous difference to the quality of my life and relationships.

Through my experience I found that Yoga means different things to different people.  My story reflects what Yoga means to me. Yoga has been a gift that I feel blessed to have received and would encourage anyone thinking about it to do what I did. Just give it a go, you may surprise yourself.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

