Skip to content

Yoga & You – February Teachers

February 1, 2010

Name: Sangeetananda, (Janice Codron), Chaitanyananda, (Brian Bergman).

Age: 30 & 36 respectively.

Occupation:

Sangeeta: Yoga teacher. Clothing designer and maker of meditation moonseats.

Chaitanyananda: Yoga teacher. Veterinary surgeon.

Style of yoga: Satyananda Yoga.

For my 21st birthday Chaitanya gave me a great yoga book which I took up immediately. We started practicing together and soon went on a trip to Nepal to do a 7 day yoga course there. That teacher was from the Satyananda tradition and his course entailed many distinctive Satyananda practices such as Yoga Nidra, meditation, Shatkarmas, Karma Yoga practice and the S.W.A.N technique. Thereafter, when we lived in London, we went as often as possible to the Satyananda centre. This exposure inspired us to apply for the 1 year diploma of yogic studies at the Bihar Yoga Bharati in India. We completed this course in 2003. Upon our return to South Africa, we established the Satyananda Yoga centre in Sea Point.
_______________________________________________________________________

Ina Gerber. Yoga Instructor.

When did you start practicing yoga? In February 1995.

What style of Yoga? Iyengar Yoga.

My Yoga Story:

After five years of regular yoga practice, I needed to share this overwhelming enthusiasm for yoga with others. Thus in February 2000 the long road of becoming an Iyengar Yoga Teacher started for me.

Along this yoga path I was fortunate and forever grateful to be taught by many wonderful South African and International Iyengar Yoga teachers.  In January 2006, my dream of attending a yoga course with the Iyengar family in India finally came true.  Attending a yoga intensive with Faeq Biria in France also proved to be a life changing experience.

Today, after having taught in Somerset West for 7 years and in Stellenbosch for 5 years, I am happy to say that I am doing daily what I dearly love and appreciate every moment of my life spent on the yoga mat and being part of this big yoga family.

It is my wish that each and every person may experience the gift of calm and inner peace given to us through yoga.  We are truly blessed.
_________________________________________________________________

Ulrike Lamprecht. Ashtanga Yoga Teacher. 38 years old.

When did you start practicing yoga? In 1999.

What style of yoga? Ashtanga Yoga

My yoga story:

I started with Iyengar Yoga in London in 1999. In 2001 I moved to Cape Town and discovered Ashtanga Yoga. I used to be a keen 10km/21km race runner and used my yoga to stretch. Once I found Ashtanga, I stopped running and developed a daily practice.

The effects spread from the mat to all aspects of my life and when I progressed from led classes to Mysore self-practice, it got turned upside down. In the silence of the practice led by my breath, I faced issues which were buried deep inside my body. I took those issues head on. It was tough. My practice, however, always came to help me on dark days, especially when life made me choke and despair. It wasn’t an easy journey but a very rewarding one which led me to a healthy and fulfilling life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

