Skip to content

Yoga & You March 2010 – Teachers

March 1, 2010

My name is Willie Cloete, I am 40 and addicted to yoga. I am a graphic designer by day and after hours I teach three yoga classes a week in Queenswood, Pretoria. The Yoga I teach is in the tradition of Sivananda Yoga.

In 1999 my GP wrote me a prescription to do yoga for my bad back with the name and number of my teacher Sri Durga Devi. A week later I started yoga. My initial objective was to cure my back and as this happened progressively, I started to discover through Sri Durga the other side of yoga, the deep and moving spiritual side which completely got me hooked on yoga for life. Today my life is Yoga. Visit my blog at: www.oneyogalife.wordpress.com for more info.

_____________________________________________________

Tom Sheehy, 29

My yoga story…
As a keen swimmer with strong spiritual beliefs, my introduction to yoga in 2006 felt more like revision than experiencing something new. The focus on breath-to-movement, and the meditative aspects of self-observation are similar in both disciplines. Yoga however allowed me to experience these things in communal spaces, sharing the experience more directly with others, and as such huge growth and profound changes occurred.

Yoga has helped me to become more aware of the subtle aspects of my body, mind and soul, healing me on many levels. By beginning and ending each and every day with a moment on my mat, I am sure that I stay connected with Source/God, that which I Trust to guide me on my Journey.

As a teacher I use Asana to bring focus and awareness to a student’s mind, allowing them a moment of deliberate intention, whereby they may experience their own understanding of themselves. My classes are flowing and graceful, yet follow no particular style. Yoga is infinite and should not, in my opinion, be defined or named. The word Asana means simply – “that space that is stable and comfortable”, this is all I ask of students in my class.

_________________________________________________________

Sy Ali, 40

I was born in Bangladesh.  I’m a yoga teacher and co-owner of Jai Yoga in Cape Town.

I have been practicing yoga for 10 years.  I practice and teach Bikram, Vinyasa and Astanga Yoga.  I used to be a personal trainer and was very muscular but couldn’t touch my knees, never mind my toes.

Yoga has shown me that I am capable of anything I put my mind to.  My vital energy has increased, my mind is clear and I’m in perfect health.  I continue to practice yoga because it works.  I’m fitter, stronger, faster and better for it.

Jacqueline Ivory, 35

I’m a yoga teacher and co-owner of Jai Yoga in Cape Town.  I began practicing yoga when I was 19 yrs old. I took some time off to experience life without it. I danced around making the commitment to myself for a few years and finally realized it was my path when I was 25 years old.

Yoga is a healing journey of self discovery and fulfillment.  It makes me a better mother, wife and friend.  Yoga was very useful to birth my son calmly and consciously.

I keep doing it because it makes me feel good, I enjoy it.  I love using my body creatively and breathing freely.  I love being really healthy and revolutionizing my whole being. It is my truth, my vision and my dance.  Yoga to me is a state of being, in movement, in stillness, in breath, in living, in love.

I practice Astanga, Pranayama, Yoga Nidra, Kundalini and I teach Astanga, Vinyasa, Pregnancy Yoga and Yoga Nidra

__________________________________________________________

Gayle Friedman
W
hen did you start practicing? Practicing 1973 & teaching 1990
Why did you start?
To relax my mind and create awareness and stretch my body. Teaching for health during pregnancy labour birth and after.
What styles and where?
Hatha and Iyengar @ Sunshine Health Academy

Gayle Friedman Registered Member of  Allied Health Professions Council of SA, has been in the Health Care Field for 20yrs and is a qualified Aroma therapist, Colour Therapist, Reflexologist, Pregnancy Therapist, Doula (Child Birth support) and Yoga Teacher for pregnant women and children using gentle form of Iyengar, and Hatha Yoga postures and Breathing . She incorporates breath-work, colour energy balancing, visualisation and meditation in all her modalities. Gayle founded The Sunshine Health Academy in 1984.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

