Skip to content

Yoga & You April 2010 – Teachers

April 5, 2010

Fulvio, 42, YogaZone Owner

When did you start practicing & teaching yoga? I became a student about 10 years ago and started teaching two years later.

What styles and where do you teach? Power Vinyasa at Yoga Zone in Cape Town city center

My story…
I was exposed to hot yoga in the USA and was immediately attracted to the focus, mindfulness and healing potential of the discipline. I wanted to make hot yoga available to people in Cape Town so came back home and opened a studio.
www.yogazone.co.za

__________________________________________________________________

 

 

Inge van Reenen, yoga teacher

My story about yoga at Sakumlandela…

In September 2008 Karma Shala started teaching yoga at Sukumlandela Primary School in Khayalitsha. In our first class we had 80 enthusiastic learners keen to learn. A rather overwhelming sight but luckily Erica, yoga teacher extraordinaire, soon had all 80 kids following her every move.

It has been amazing watching the young yogis progress in their practice. Besides helping me to learn Xhosa they have enriched my life immeasurably. Their dedication to their own practice is truly inspirational. I started doing yoga during a difficult period of my life and my daily practice has kept me sane. I would like to thank my wonderful teachers Jim and Tamsin, and the EarthChild Project for the incredible work they are doing. Ndiyabulela kakhulu!

If you would like to become involved in teaching yoga at Sakumlandela please contact Inge at 072 645 4597 / www.earthchildproject.org

____________________________________________________________

 

Jaco Janse van Rensburg. Yoga Teacher. 40 years old.

When did you start practicing yoga? 2001.
What style of yoga? Vinyasa Yoga.

My yoga story:I started my discovery of yoga in 2001 at Helen Altman’s studio in Hout Bay, practicing Hatha Yoga, after a decision to bring more balance into my life. I joined Moksha Ashtanga Studio in 2004 when I moved to Cape Town. I completed my teacher training at Karma Shala with Jim Harrington in 2008 and started teaching at the end of that year at Karma Shala. I was deeply affected when introduced to the work of Shiva Rae in 2009 and this is reflected in my classes that have a fluid mood to them. I like to fuse a number of styles like Ashtanga Yoga, Synergy Yoga, and Tibetan Yoga as well, creating a unique experience for my students. Each class is designed to be a journey of self-discovery using music and a class can feature anything from Madame Butterfly to the Pet Shop Boys, making the experience fresh and playful. I am still very new to teaching, but it has brought a wonderful sense of discipline and structure to my life, while still being able to express myself creatively.
www.karmashalayoga.co.za

____________________________________________________________

Tamsin Sheehy. Age: 33
Occupation:
Yoga teacher and guides cleansing programmes.
Style: Eclectic vinyasa flow
My yoga story:

I find inspiration for my own practice and teaching from all different sources. I like to see yoga in all things around me, nature, relationships and the interconnectedness of the Universe. I have had the honour to study and practice from many different schools of yoga and feel each one has important tools to offer. I personally see the growth of yoga in the 21st century and beyond as becoming a melting pot of various styles and traditions to meet each individual’s personal needs, whether physical, emotional, mental or spiritual.
I try to convey this in my personal practice and then in my teaching, allowing for students to tune into their own body’s intelligence whilst in a led class. An eternal journey of learning and sharing is Yoga to me.

www.karmashalayoga.co.za

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2013 1:43 pm

    Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

  2. May 10, 2013 5:32 pm

    I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Our blog regarding technology: Anja

Trackbacks

  1. YAA Interview with Mariah Betts | Yoga Awakening Africa News

Leave a Reply

