Skip to content

Yoga & You August 2010 – Teachers

August 2, 2010

Priya Vassen, 31, Yoga instructor, Acupuncturist, Shiatsu Practitioner and Reiki Master.

When did you start practicing & teaching yoga?

I remember my aunt taking me to a few yoga classes when I was a little kid. Then in 1998 I did the Art of Living Part One Course and from here Yoga has always been a part of my life in one way or another. I completed my Yoga Teachers Training at Ananda Kutir Ashram in 2007. I began teaching the following year at Sundara Sanctuary and haven’t looked back since.

My yoga story.

I started the Teacher Training after I left my job in the corporate world. I knew that an office job wasn’t for me and was in a kind of limbo. At that stage I had no intention of teaching and I did the course to develop and deepen my own understanding. However, I began teaching the very next year and now cannot picture my life without it. Yoga helped me to grow so much as a person and it is truly a gift to be able to in some small way pass that on to others. And the fact of the matter is that I learn so much from my ‘students’. I can’t give it up! It is an honour, privilege, deeply humbling and incredibly inspiring to bear witness to the incredible transformations that people undergo.

What styles and where do you teach?

I primarily teach Hatha Yoga and weave my knowledge and experience of Chinese Medicine into the classes. I believe in an integrated approach to yoga and that the class truly begins when we step off our mats and back into the ‘real’ world. There should be no difference between the two.

I teach group classes at Ambiante Studio in Harfield Village, Cape Town and I do private classes with groups and individuals in their own space. I have taught in the corporate environment. I also facilitate regular yoga retreats in the Cedarburg – the next one is happening in November and I’m really excited about that.

083 259 7973 /priyavassen@gmail.com

________________________________________________________

Maritz Steyn.

Maritz has been teaching Vinyasa flow classes for the last eight years. His classes are challenging with a powerful interplay of strength and gentleness. His well-structured class explores posture, breath and mind through movement. A conscious choice of music supports the flow. Maritz encourages students to build their yoga practice with compassion and awareness. He emphasizes honouring our own unique growth, pace, strength, flexibility and balance.

Maritz has developed his instinctive body awareness throughout his life through gymnastics, dance, physical instruction for the SANDF, teaching Pilates, massage and movement fusion. He has a deep respect for the complexity of yoga philosophy, with its ancient roots meeting our modern ways of being. He encourages the greater development of yoga through instruction in philosophy, breathing, and meditation.

Maritz is also a practicing developmental coach and massage therapist. Completed 200 & 500 hour advanced yoga teachers training course in Australia 2007, and continues his education through a variety of workshops in various yoga disciplines.

theyogalife.co.za

________________________________________________

Ze Miguel.

My name is Ze Miguel, I have a bachelors degree in Environmental Science and Policy and I teach yoga full time in Maputo, Mozambique.  I have been teaching for almost two years, but have been a student for six. I teach a mix between Ashtanga and Power yoga, designed for athletes and very active people, and a Hatha blend style which is based on correct breathing, correct posture, some therapeutics and asanas ranging from simple to complex, for all levels. I teach at the Natural Centre among other locations throughout Maputo.

I was introduced to yoga after being diagnosed with spondylolisthesis, the anterior displacement of the top vertebrae in relation to the lower. Started with localized stretches then got myself into a classroom for a full 90 minutes session. I understood how physically complete the science was, how many benefits it could bring to others, and how it was just the beginning towards enlivening body awareness.
I now bring my curiosity, passion and toughness, (my sports background ranges from years of soccer, basketball, gymnastics and swimming), into class, to create softness and surrender, which are very important tools I believe to be central to the understanding of self.

Namaste`.
Contact: +258 82 9345055 /zemigas@usa.com

____________________________________________________________

Mariah Betts.

Mariah has been living, studying and teaching yoga across the United States for the last 6 years. An athlete throughout life, Mariah found yoga in the late nineties as a way to focus the mind and gain more awareness of the body.  She believes it is through our physical body that we have access to the subtler energetic parts of ourselves.

Mariah’s classes blend elements of strength, precision, breath, music, fun and philosophy.  Her style draws from experience as a human, a yogini, a coach and holistic health counselor. She encourages students to find individual expression, to feel their power and move deeper into their True Self.

Mariah finished her first yoga teacher training with Ana Forrest in 2004, after originally studying Bikram and Ashtanga Vinyasa.  She was trained by Jessika Munnell to teach Jessika’s hot yoga sequence in 2008 and completed her second 200 hour Maya Yoga training with Eddie Modestini and Nicki Doane in 2010.

theyogalife.co.za

_____________________________________________-

Leave a Reply

