Skip to content

Yoga & You September 2010 – Student Mito Skellern shares her story.

September 5, 2010

Name: Mito Skellern, 35 yrs, Casting Director / Actor

When did I start?
With any real growing focus –  only in the last maybe year and a half, though I had done the odd class here and there before hand.

Why did I start?
I had been dancing at JazzArt, and my teacher had suggested I do something like Pilates or yoga to strengthen my core, (with some background in dance and gymnastics I was never intimidated by it, and always felt it was something I could take on).

What styles and where?
I had done the odd Hatha yoga class here and there, but when I started regularly, it was initially at the Virgin Active gym. They had great alternating teachers and styles, but I would say the majority was Ashtanga based, with a few Kundulini and Hatha classes. One of the teachers there at the time was Stuart Kirton and he was also a teacher at the heated studio in town, Yoga Zone, which I had heard a lot about. I decided to give it a try. I have never looked back, and have been regularly practicing there ever since (at Yogazone Cape Town).  My favourite of the styles taught there is Vinyasa, but I do the odd Bikram or Ashtanga class also. (I think starting in Ashtanga really prepared me well for Vinyasa).

My yoga story:

I was really enjoying yoga as I committed to it more and more at the gym, (I was working out in the gym a lot then, and I found it really helped my body with stiffness and flexibility). But honestly, the Yogazone heated studio, the teachers there, and the Vinyasa style just pushed it to a whole new level for me – I haven’t been inside the gym in many months, but practice 4 –6 times a week. I love it more and more –  so much so, that as soon as I can afford to, I will do a teachers training course – even if I never teach, I have just found it to be such a positive force in my life. I want to pursue Yoga in any way that I can into the future.  I have never felt stronger, or more connection between body and mind, it has been a very grounding journey, and has helped me deal with my life stresses immeasurably.

________________________________________________________

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Toi permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:06 pm

    That sounds really worth spending time and efford on !

  2. Toi permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:06 pm

    Great !

Leave a Reply

