Skip to content

Yoga & You September 2010 – Teachers

September 5, 2010

Laura Anjali Montesanti, 31, Yoga Teacher

When did you start practicing & teaching yoga?

In London 9 years ago and now teaching in Cape Town for 3 years now.

What styles and where do you teach?

I teach Hatha Yoga, Akhanda Yoga, Yoga Dance and Restorative Yoga at Anjali Yoga in the Scalabrini Centre, Commercial Street, Cape Town.

Your yoga story:

Yoga has been a constant part of Laura’s life for the past 9 years. Inspired to start practicing yoga after meeting the amazing teachers of Pyramid Yoga in her travels in Thailand which transmitted her the peace and beauty of yoga just through their being. She then started her practice in London where she was influenced by Yin Yan Yoga, Iyengar, Bikram, Ashtanga Vinyasa and Restorative Yoga. She completed her main teacher training in India with her guru Vishvketu (Vishva-ji).

Her classes have a meditative quality for students to learn to be present and to smile, practicing being as fully alive as possible in each moment in everyday life and not just on the mat. Laura enjoys being creative and experimental with her classes working with a variety of themes, ideas, different sequences and a range of postures to help students deepen their practice and understanding. Laura keeps her classes strictly on a donation base to allow anyone to afford practicing yoga.

Laura Anjali Montesanti / anjali.yoga@hotmail.comwww.anjaliyogact.com

_________________________________________________________

Nazreen Omar.  42years old – YogaKids Teacher & Trainer – Africa.

When did u start practicing & teaching yoga?

I started practising yoga at a young age & found that I loved how I felt after doing yoga. Doing Sun Salutations felt like a dance to me & I was hooked. In my earlier years as a teenager yoga helped me appreciate my awkward body but it was only later on that I realised the beauty of yoga and how much it helped me develop a true connection with my body, mind & spirit. My love for yoga allowed me to take it a step further & much later on in 2005 I started my journey with yoga for children & teenagers.

My love for yoga & passion for helping young people soon became a reality in 2005.

What styles & where do u teach?

My personal practice consists of a combination of Bikram yoga & Flow yoga included with the style of Forrest yoga.

My teaching expertise focuses on children & teen yoga. I teach the YogaKids & Teens program to children from the ages 3- 17years. I teach a studio class, Saturday mornings 11am –12pm, for ages 3-12 at the Bikram yoga studio – Jozi in Illovo. I started teaching the YogaKids program since 2005 and as from 2006 I became a teacher trainer.

The teens classes I teach are mostly private classes, all the other “in between” age groups that I teach take place at schools & at their homes.

My Yoga Story…

In July 2005 I went to the USA & completed the 4day YogaKids Foundations training in New York and by 2006 after my Advanced Training & Teacher Training in Michigan I became the first teacher trainer in Africa. I also mentor for YogaKids & help develop other trainees on this path. The program highlights wellness, learning & having fun while using yoga as a pathway. For me all these elements make up interesting & imaginative ways for children to excess their bodies, minds & spirits in an integrative way.

I teach using yoga movement & technique in child-friendly ways where yoga asanas & breathing is linked to encourage & develop the “whole” child. My teaching style reinstates simplicity & encourages children & teenagers to have a playful & stress free outlook as they learn how to effectively manage their lives in a frenetic world.

_________________________________

Carryn Smit

Carryn Smit has taken over Hege’s Tuesday night class as well as a couple of Mysore classes at Shanti Cape Town. I would like to welcome Carryn on board and look forward to working with her.

Carryn began her yoga journey at 16 years old, practicing Iyengar yoga and she has been practicing a variety of Hatha styles since then.
In 2009 she discovered Ashtanga and has been a committed Ashtangi ever since.
She completed her RYT-200 Yoga Alliance training in India with Caroline Klebl (www.sourceofyoga.com) at the end of 2009 and has also learnt adjustment techniques from Olivier David who studies under Sri V Sheshadri. With her honours in psychology, she is particularly interested in the psychological benefits of yoga and looks to explore and research this area further in her career.

__________________________________________________________

My name is Jai Jagdeesh Kaur. I am a qualified and experienced Kundalini yoga teacher. I made the film Beautiful as butterflies on healing and Kundalini and the project I run teaches Kundalini in the state mental hospitals. I will be having an all day retreat at St. Joseph’s Adult Education Programme on Saturday 9th October looking at opening your heart. Often we close our hearts in times of stress, anxiety, worry, fear, anger and in a state of mis trust, we can close ourselves off to any possiblities that the world has to offer

A strange thing happened whilst I was on my way recently to the Alchemy centre in London. A lady at the bus stop was furious when her bus sailed past her. So my bus driver kindly hooted to her and suggested that she climb aboard so that he could catch up with the bus she needed. She swore at him. She was so angry that she could not see past her rage and accept his benevolence. When we close our hearts we miss so much.

During this day we will do lots of yoga, meditation and gong relaxations so that we can generate a state of grace and openness.

Come and join us for this day. We will do an extended Dhan Dhan Guru Ram Das meditation as it is Guru Ram Das’ special day and chanting his special mantra brings us Blessings.

For further information call me on 082 853 1724/021 685 1257  kajl@global.co.za It is R350 for the day or if you pay before Sept 21st it is R250.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2013 5:08 pm

    gayatri

  2. June 2, 2013 2:30 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the most useful websites on the
    internet. I most certainly will highly recommend this blog!

Leave a Reply

