Skip to content

Yoga & You October 2010 – Students

October 7, 2010

Helena LaCock – Personal Assistant  / Secretary for an Asset Management Company for the last 17 years and Mother of 2 daughters.

From the beginning when our company arranged for yoga classes 2½ years ago, I was hooked.  Originally we only practiced yoga twice a week, but it soon became apparent that all participants were enjoying it so much that we extended classes to three times a week.

Yoga has been an absolute learning curve for myself, I was a complete novice, but knew I wanted to do something more than just cardio workouts and in yoga I found that it incorporates a person’s entire body, mind and spirit.  Breaking my day with yoga, instead of sitting at my desk has definitely helped with my concentration, well-being and productivity.  I feel revitalized after a class and ready for the afternoon, no matter what it might bring.

Doing yoga in a small corporate environment has also been great fun as it has helped build a greater team spirit.  No matter whether you are a director or the filing clerk, there is a spot for you and some days we have a good laugh when Juanita introduces new poses or pushes up the tempo and we try and keep up.

I find that I am much stronger in all physical aspects and taking this strength over into regular cardio workouts has made me feel much better about myself and my health.

We all have only one life to live, so living it well and looking after my health is very important.

“Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens.” – Juanita uses this quote and since I started doing yoga, I now only understand the meaning and it has changed my personal perspective on all aspects in my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

