Skip to content

Yoga & You – Teachers Dec/Jan 2011

December 6, 2010

Dorly Viollier

There are certain moments that can forever shift and change your life….”

“Born in Switzerland to a family of medical doctors and gynaecologists, my father awakened my interest in women’s health and life cycles when I was quite young. At the age of 14, I was allowed to assist him with a mother giving birth to her child. Later I graduated and worked in my home country as a physiotherapist.

26 years ago, I immigrated with my husband and 4 children to South Africa. Some years after my children left home, that very special moment happened! Yoga entered my life and it became a passion, a source of deep and great joy, of increased vitality and enthusiasm, uplifting and enhancing every moment. This changed the flow of my life. I became a Yoga teacher and reconnected with the medical profession by acquiring skills as a remedial Yoga therapist.

I like the flow of Hatha Yoga but equally the dynamism and spirituality of Kundalini Yoga.

Looking for an ideal way to combine these two Yoga styles, and inspired by the great Kundalini Yoga master, Yogi Bhajan, with his knowledge about women and their health and by the ideas of a youthful 80 years old Brazilian yoga teacher, I combined the two and created a blend of dynamic Yoga sequences, breathing techniques and rituals that give mature women self-empowering and healing skills to help reducing symptoms of menopause through Hormone Yoga.

Using the experience of my own 4 pregnancies and the awe that I feel with respect to the miracle of new live growing in a woman’s womb, I enjoy teaching future moms the skills of how to nurture their bodies and how to deepen their connection to the unborn babies in Pre-Natal Yoga classes.

Yoga opened my eyes for life’s abundance. My vision is to share my enthusiasm and to light the healing and purifying fire of Yoga in others.”

– dorlyv@webafrica.org.za | Adi Shakti Yoga Centre

__________________________________________________________________

Tammy Wilde

Yoga first came into my life when I was 7 and would accompany my grandmother to yoga class at her old age home. I would invariably be asked to twist my young self into pretzel positions, much to the delight of the oldies! Those early experiences foreshadowed what was to come. Fifteen years later, I walked into Yoga Zone and my life changed then and there. I will never forget walking out of that class and promising myself, “I’m going to teach yoga one day and I’m going to teach it here!” Over the next months, I experienced a powerful shift that inspired a love and passion for yoga that will be with me always.

My yoga journey took a big step a couple years of later when I enrolled in Jim Harrington’s teacher training course. From there, I taught at different studios in Cape Town. Once I’d gleaned some good experience, I approached Yoga Zone for a teaching position. After some intense power-vinyasa training, I stepped into the same yoga room where I’d started, this time as teacher, and felt gratitude that life had come full circle.

I believe that yoga is for everyone and you do not have to be anything more than who you already are to be a yogi. It has been the single most transformative practice I have experienced and one of the great blessings of my life. My relationship with yoga is continually evolving and my commitment to the practice only deepens as I witness my students go through their own transformations. Yoga holds something unique and pure for each person. It will change your life for the better. I guarantee it!

________________________________________

Angie Bennett

I have always been interested in and driven by the link between the body and mind, exploring it through many different forms of sport and training as well as my university degrees in psychology and counseling, but nothing to date has given me the clarity of mind and consciousness of body that yoga has allowed.

My journey towards becoming a yoga teacher involved martial arts and group fitness instruction, counseling and psychology, and corporate work, but I knew that wasn’t where I wanted to be. I love people, and to bear witness to their personal development, mind and body, through their unfolding yoga practice is truly an honor and a gift.

I am a yoga alliance certified teacher and did my teacher training in Ashtanga Vinyasa and Rocket yoga. I have also traveled to India, spending time practicing Iyengar and Sivananda yoga. I believe strongly in consistency of practice and to me it is important to be a student before I am a teacher, to be continually learning and growing, and to live and practice what I teach.

_______________________________________________

Alana Brennan came to her yoga mat back in 2003 in search for some balance in her life. Having been a competitive swimmer for fifteen years she has always found peace and comfort in the rhythmic physical release of energy. In July of 2007 she completed the Forrest Yoga Teacher Training Course in Kingston, Rhode Island. Forrest Yoga‘s strong focus on the connection between body, breath and consciousness has allowed her to work deeply in her body and heal injuries she endured during her years as a competitive swimmer. Alana’s classes are challenging but offer clear instruction so students feel safe as they begin their journey into their own practice.

Leave a Reply

