Skip to content

Ayurveda and Pregnancy – Part 2

May 2, 2011
Following from April article:
Going into my third trimester, the time when babies experience their most growth, I had to take my nutrition into better account. Being a vegetarian, I did have to consider extra protein requirements, as Keytones were discovered in my urine on three visits to the Midwife. This was a bit of a scare, as we discovered that my body was digesting its own tissues in order to nourish our baby. Not good, as I was beginning to experience bouts of Hyper-Glycemia and an unrelenting need to eat all the time, (though I still was not getting specific cravings per say). Having made this discovery, I found an Organic Vegan Protein & increased my supplements and we were back on track again. Now, I was beginning to experience “someone else being in control of my body”! Since, the bouts of nausea came also and I put it down to our baby’s spirit integrating with mine. This lasted a few short weeks and I can happily say that it was not all the time. It gave me the opportunity to take more rest and dive deeper into my Self-Hypnosis and Birth Rehearsal sessions which extended my morning Sadhana to another 40 minutes.

Throughout my pregnancy, I continued to work up until two weeks our expected birthing day- facilitating Ayurvedic Massage and Lifestyle Consultations, as well as Cooking Courses. While my spirit was high, it did take its toll on my energy, realizing how much I actually invest of myself, into the well being of others. The natural instinct of an empath and I wouldn’t want it any other way. Another strong point being my ability to truly practice what I preach. And throughout this process of discovery, I came across an awesome guide: Gentle Birth Method, by Dr. Gowri Motha. She offers largely an Ayurvedic perspective to birthing, as well as other tips that I could relate to, like Reflexology, Creative Healing Massage and the importance of good nutrition.
   In the Indian culture, relatives visit a pregnant mother regularly and bring her prepared food. Feeding a mother is considered one of the most generous gifts. This gives her practical support and allows her to take rest, for relaxation techniques and time to connect. She also takes time for Self-Abhyanga Oilation Massage. And when the baby is born, she will be given as much opportunity to bond with her baby, with a similar practice after bath time. In the West however, where mothers are still expected to work up until a few weeks of their baby’s birth, one may not always have this opportunity. I suggest getting creative with one’s time. Spend less time on frivolous telephone conversation or TV distractions and become more conscious of the food you take, taking care that it nourishes both you and baby, thus giving you more energy to take time-out.
__________________________________________________
Continuation of Article next month – June 2011

Claire Stephenson has been a Wellness Consultant for the past thirteen years! As well as Yoga & Ayurveda, she is also a qualified Reflexologist, Aromatherapist & Facial Therapist. She now facilitates Ayurvedic Cooking Courses as well as Diet & Lifestyle Assessments. Cell: 082 338 8001 | claritystephenson@gmail.com|http://clairestephenson@blogspot.com |
Image: Bernd Ritze
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

