Skip to content

Ayurveda & Pregnancy – Part 3

June 2, 2011

I have experienced that one can achieve balance in pregnancy with awareness of the mind through meditation, awareness of the body through self-massage and preggy Yoga, and awareness of your growing baby, by taking time to connect with this precious GIFT growing inside you. As I have already mentioned, throughout my pregnancy, while I experienced some of the common complaints like: bloating, back ache & the very occasional nausea- no morning sickness, (though ginger is good for that), I’ve had loads of energy and people often commented on my vibrancy. I put this down to my largely Ayurvedic diet, (vegetarian), Yoga & self-abhyanga massage practice.

I joined a weekly preggy-Yoga Class that pushed my body a little more in the direction of natural birthing preparation, with squats and loads of groin flexibility exercises. To take care of my back ache, I had regular pregnancy massage and look forward to regular reflexology post-partum. And since diet is an absolute fundamental to one’s energy and wellbeing, I followed the dietary guidelines as well as drinking plenty of water.

Fruit eaten on an empty stomach: Pears, (rich in calcium), pineapples (for digestion), berries, apples, peaches, nectarines, plums, avocados, (high in protein) & apricots, (rich in iron). Fruit is very high in sugar and should be limited to 3 pieces a day. Dried fruit should be sulphur-free.

Carbohydrates: Corn pasta, oats, barley, brown rice & lentils, (combined make a complete protein). Wheat & wheat products, as well as pasta should be avoided as they create mucous in the colon.

Vegetables: Cooked greens, marrows, cucumber, carrots and parsnips, (seasonal & locally grown is best). Steamed vegetable is highly superior to raw. This is because the plant cellulose, softened during cooking is more digestible by the bacteria in your gut. Therefore less gas / bloating is experienced. Also the pancreas slows down its secretions of digestive enzymes. Cooked tomatoes, aubergine, spinach and beet greens are considered acidic, as well as potatoes, (high carb), and salad to be taken in moderation.

Meat: An Ayurvedic diet is largely vegetarian, however if you enjoy… Chicken and the occasional lamb are best. Red meat, pork, pates & preserved meat creates acid in the body.

Fish: All fish is good, with the exception of tuna, (high in mercury). Oily fish like mackerel, organic salmon are rich in omega-3 oils, (essential for growth of babies brain function).

If you are vegetarian however, a table spoon of flaxseed oil daily will give you all you need.

Seeds & Nuts: Are rich in both protein and essential fatty acids. Sunflower & pumpkin seeds can be sprinkled over food or snack on almonds and walnuts throughout the day.

Our baby Stuart was born on the 14th April 2011 at 4:11am, by a successful water birth. The birth hypnosis & my Yoga practices definitely prepared me, as most of it was spent at home. My waters broke in the early evening and when I arrived at the clinic at about 3am, I was already sufficiently dilated to give birth. We were discharged the following day and my recovery has been super speedy. I hope to be sharing my experience of motherhood soon; however getting to know him and meeting his breastfeeding needs has become my first priority for now.

____________________________________________________

Claire Stephenson has been a Wellness Consultant for the past thirteen years! As well as Yoga & Ayurveda, she is also a qualified Reflexologist, Aromatherapist & Facial Therapist. She now facilitates Ayurvedic Cooking Courses as well as Diet & Lifestyle Assessments. Cell: 082 338 8001 | claritystephenson@gmail.com|http://clairestephenson@blogspot.com |

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

