Skip to content

YAA Interview: Andre Kunkel

December 1, 2011

1.       Name: Andre Kunkel

2.    DOB: 22/11/1973

3.       What style of yoga do you teach? Sivananda Yoga.

4.       Where do you teach? Southern Sea Yoga in Muizenberg.

5.       How long have you been practicing yoga? Since 2004.

6.       How long have you been teaching yoga? Since 2009.

7.    Who have you trained with and where? In Germany I started with Silke Eberhardt and trained with her until I left, in 2009 I did my training at the Yoga Vidya Ashram in Germany. Over the years I have also attended uncountable yoga courses and workshops with Mahadev Schmidt, Nilakantha Enz, Sharon and David.

8.       What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach? I decided to do my teacher training to deepen my own personal yoga practice and not with the intention of teaching. I loved the 4-week yoga intensive and after qualifying I started teaching my sisters and a few friends in my home town. Teaching these sessions then ignited my passion for teaching yoga. Soon I started to teach in the Yoga Vidya Centre in my home town and assisted the teacher training.

9.       What do you love most about teaching? I enjoy watching beginner students on their journey when they manage to bring a point of focus to their practice and the pleasure in their eyes when they manage a more difficult Asana for the very first time. With advanced students I love seeing how and when the flow happens naturally and the teaching occurs spontaneously.

10.   Is there a focus in your teaching style? Yes, the breath.

11.   What do you love most about yoga? The full experience and constant returning back to ones centre.

12.   What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga? To leave the safe harbour. Leaving a safe and well paid job in Germany as a mechanical engineer to teach yoga in SA and following my inner voice. Also realising that the deeper I go with yoga the more fear within myself I become aware of. The fear to surrender is probably the biggest challenge but the only way  to understand the big adventure that life is.

13.   What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga? Try as many styles as you can because there are so many different styles around and not each style is suited to each person.

14.   Do you have a regular practice? Yes, daily.

15.   Favourite Asana? Arm balances.

16.   Strongest Asana? Mayurasana.

17.   Least Favourite Asana? Vrischikasana.

18.   Any religious affiliations? No, but I am interested in Tantric Philospohy.

19.   What are your other interests? Kite-boarding, surfing and playing with the elements in nature.

20.   Any thank yous? To all my teachers,  Lee-sa and Patrice, for their guidance and support along this journey.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susy permalink
    December 11, 2011 6:54 pm

    Hey André!
    As promised I viewed your interview.
    What for honest and emotional answers. You have really found yor way and
    you´ve well done having trust in your inner voice and believing in you!
    I wish you all the best!
    Greetings Susy!

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga in Muizenberg. « Yoga Awakening Africa News

Leave a Reply

