Skip to content

Melu’s Journey: From Joburg to the Mountain Top

January 10, 2012

In May this year – I took time out from Joburg, working like crazy at my computer, addicted to my crackberry life and mainly a full time occupation being depressed and found myself at AfriKaBurn.

A Festival in the middle of the Karoo – it  is all about Gifting, intense unashamed self-expression and Freedom. There is no monetary exchange. I noticed art, art and more art and wonderful crazy characters everywhere.

Getting there was a stretch. I haven’t flung myself into the unknown like that for years – and was quite simply: TERRIFIED. Camping? Arranging my own food! Freezing cold conditions at night and HOT HOT Hot during the day! Trusting, not knowing the guys I was getting a lift there with…. All my buttons were being pushed.

I have come to learn that the greater the fear is regarding an event or situation – the greater the reward when I face it.

The reward was immense! I found my wildness and freedom. And most importantly I fell in love with life again.  All her magic and glory caught me up and I had a yearning and curiosity to continue to play.

As I left the Festival – I sent a prayer into the Desert – to guide me to carry this newfound freedom into the world and asked how to anchor that in my life permanently- so I never lost my way again.

And the prayer was answered. I found myself on The Africa Yoga Teachers Training in July in Cape St Francis. Again, some resistance to get there. But I made it, and completed the amazing month long Yoga immersion.

I cannot believe how Yoga has carried me on a river of love and joy ever since. I am teaching in 2 different areas near where I live (which is a mountain top in the wild) and have been asked to start a 3rd class. My job (that I was struggling to enjoy) is diversifying massively – and Yoga is weaving its magical way into that formal world too.  It seems to have a life of its own. With no effort or struggle, I just need to continue to remain open and receptive to letting this flow take me where  am loving going.

Photos By Thomas Brown.

Location: Melu’s farm in Schoemanskloof -55 kms from Nelspruit.

Words by Melissa Adey

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melu permalink
    January 10, 2012 8:53 pm

    Yay – Thanks for publishing Briony – this is really beautiful xxx miss you babe

  2. Dee permalink
    January 11, 2012 6:00 am

    What an inspiring story! Shows us all that following your heart takes guts and faith but it’s worth it if you can follow through!

  3. Karen Richards permalink
    January 11, 2012 8:43 am

    Wonderful article my free spirited gypsey friend! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

