Skip to content

JAPJI – Repitition in the Early Morning.

January 12, 2012

‘Blessed is Guru Nanak,
the great source of wisdom;
Guru Gobind Singh,
the great example of courage.
Blessed is Guru Ram Das,
The great Lord of miracles.
Blessed is the khalsa Panth,
The great avenue of purity, piety and power.
Blessed are, oh yogi, all who follow
on this path of wisdom.’
-Yogi Bhajan

Why do you keep waking up at 4 in the morning. You are in a deep sleep and ping, suddenly you are awake, morning after morning. Try get back to sleep and your brain races on with a thousand thoughts of what ifs, one idea leading to another, gaining momentum, ughh! The guilt of all the stuff not done or said, your mind just goes on and on, leaving you in a sweat about things that are not even real, making up conversations that are not spoken and actions/reactions not played out…nothing real.
Have you ever thought of why your brain wakes you up? It’s a great question with many answers, I’m sure – but I like mine, because it works for me!
Ambrosial hours of the morning are 3-6 am. The golden hours 3-5, silver 5-6, and platinum earlier still. Every yoga doctrine and spiritual path will tell you this is the time to wake up and have a conversation with your soul, your god, your spirit. The time to connect with who you really are.

It is the heart guiding the mind. Once we experience waking up at this time, it is hard to not repeat it.  Maybe you did it for study purposes, or to keep fit running or swimming or it’s your time on the mat. You secretly love it, you feel good.
My experience is in nature. I walk in the early morning light with my dogs and Japji, Guru Nanak’s morning prayer, playing in my ears through my little MP3. Yogi Bhajan, our spiritual guide in the art and practice of Kundalini Yoga, recommends Japji to awaken all the tattwas, the elements, upon arising.

Every blade of grass, in the light pale growing bolder, becomes etched in my mind. The moment seems so tangible, transparent, easy to hold and I feel so connected to it all. If I was to disappear, so would the moment, the world and the entire existence. That is what it feels like to listen to Japji, the words in Gurmukhi, harmony in every sentence, so in balance with the soul and nature. We are all one and all connected.
Every step brings a sense of peace and I am held together by the words as they flow, tongue to palate and out through the lips.

Ek Ong Kar – warms the lips, palate, tongue, throat, breath.
Now the words roll off the tongue.
Amul gun amul vaapaar
     amul vaapaaree-ay amul bhandaar -the clipping of consonants balancing the flow of the vowels.
     Nanak paatisaahee paatisaahu

     Panch parvaan punch pardhaan
     panchay paavahi dargahi maan

     Aisaa naam nirinjan ho-ay
     Jayko man jaanai man ko-ay.

My 2km walk takes me through a pristine piece of the Witwatersberg bushveld. I step through a flow of spring water cascading over a low bridge and it washes my feet of the errors to be committed through the day. Treading lightly through a narrow, stoney passage of quartz and granite dolomite rocks, I imagined the faces of deities standing sentinel, I pause and sound a protection mantra of gratitude and honor the existence of the sacered now. This is the home of  spotted eagle owls,  falcons, rabbits, dassies and countless other creatures. Japji brings home to me that I must try live in harmony as nature does.

The gorge widens, one wall collapsed aeons ago and opens the valley into a chalise, the remaining wall rises sheer and is a protective home to all that lives here, rock figs, baboons. My path winds along the spring that sometimes flows over the rocks and sometimes goes disappears. Tranquil rock pools give my dogs and I a natural dip for our morning wash, rinsing away sleep and dust from our eyes. Fine strands of cobwebs catch you across your brow and cheeks, wake-up and brush away the random thoughts that disturb the flow of Japji. I listen to my soul humming the words in the true way of how I want to live. I smile and feel so alive. Two stinkwoods wrapped around each other in an eternal embrace, call to me to hug them. Soul to soul, we are one, in God.

‘In walking meditation, the mind needs to be controlled – else the mind the walk becomes meaningless. Feel with your senses. You can’t be surprised or cause alarm to your senses, you need to be aware: everything fits in, sounds, smells, touch, taste, and vision all need to be in rhythm with every step and breath you take. Dogs glide effortlessly by your side, the snake is noticed, along with the bird song, the slight breeze caressing you face, nothing is at odds, the wild flowers, grass and trees, warmth of the sun, all make the walk – oneness is experienced.’ From my level I teachers exam.
____________________________________
Tejbir Kaur lives at nature haven Sima Kade, Cradle of Humankind, in her environmentally friendly home. She and her architect husband Laurence Brown converted their Magaliesberg home into Melody Hill Yoga Retreat which accommodates groups up to 25 with fully catered whole foods. Tejbir Kaur completed her Hatha Yoga teacher training with Durgana at ISHTA and the Kundalini teacher training with Pritam Hari Kaur and Har Bhajan Singh Khalsa.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

