Skip to content

YAA Interview: Lorraine Nevin

February 27, 2012

1. Name:

Lorraine Nevin

2. DOB:

21 May 1963

3. What style of yoga do you teach?
Ashtanga/Vinyasa based. I really enjoy teaching absolute beginners.

4. Where do you teach?

At my home studio “Just Breathe” in Constantia and at Enerchi Emporium Dance Studio in Bergvleit.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

About 4 years consistently, but on and off for much longer.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

Since October 2011.


7. Who have you trained with and where?

Jim Harrington and his excellent team, (Tamsin Sheehy, Mariah Betts and Aldi Groenewald), at Karma Shala in Cape Town. I’ve attended workshops with the amazing Patrick Creelman and Shimon Ben Avi, both visiting from overseas, and with our own Yvonne de Kok.

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

At 47 years of age, I was retrenched and I needed to decide what to do with the rest of my life. Teaching yoga offered me the independence I wanted in my working life. I love Steve Jobs’ quote “the only way to do great work is to love what you do.” And I love yoga!

9. What do you love most about teaching?

I love sharing the gift of yoga. I love seeing how people are prepared to try new things, challenge themselves physically and mentally, enjoy their own achievements, find a slice of time in which they can relax and simply enjoy themselves for who they are.

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

I focus principally on the physical aspects of yoga: stretching, building flexibility and strength and on the breath.

11. What do you love most about yoga?

I love the way yoga taught me to slow down, calm my mind and be in the present moment. I love the way yoga keeps my body fit and healthy. I enjoy exploring the metaphorical aspects of yoga: balance, stability, flexibility, strength, all of them have much deeper meaning than purely the physical.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

Stress and stilling my ‘monkey mind’. I worked in the corporate world for 16 years and then ran my family’s manufacturing concern for 4 years as well as having two children and a home to run. Yoga offered me the opportunity to switch off all thoughts of income and expenditure, marketing budgets, product launches, school projects & homework, etc. and think of nothing more challenging than how to get my left hand to reach back and touch my right foot while balancing on one leg while breathing through my nose!

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Try it! Yoga is so personal… You need to find the right teacher for you, so I’d advise that you try a few different types of yoga, studios and teachers before you commit to one.

14. Do you have a regular practice?

It’s hard to get to a regular class with my schedule, but I do pop in at Karma Shala, YogaWay and the Virgin Active gym in Steenberg when I can. Attending Marion Bartko-McCabe’s Sunday morning class at VA Steenberg was on my New Year’s Resolution list – but I haven’t been too good at sticking to it so far!

15. Favourite Asana:

Has to be Eka Pada Raja Kapotasana! I just love that glute stretch!

16. Strongest Asana?

I’m still struggling after all this time to master Pincha Mayurasana, so I’d have to say my strongest “steady and comfortable” asana is Headstand.

17. Any religious affiliations?

None that can be labeled!

18. What are your other interests?

I write short fiction and poetry, I’m working on getting my running routine back up to a regular 10kms twice a week, and I read contemporary literary fiction. I’m working my way through several “100 best books of the 20th Century” lists, plus all the Pulitzer, Nobel & Booker winners.

19. Any Thank Yous?

Thank you to my family for supporting me in my new yogic venture. Thank you to Jim Harrington for fabulous tuition, and to my closest friends who are always there when I need them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

