Skip to content

YAA Interview: Kay Daneel

April 9, 2012

1. Name: Kay Daneel

2. DOB: 25 January 1949

3. What style of yoga do you teach? Hatha yoga

4. Where do you teach? Somerset West

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?
For most of my adult life, but consistently for 20 years.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?
14 years

7. Who have you trained with and where?
Ananda Kutir Ashram – teachers training and remedial yoga, and various other exposure to other yoga traditions and schools.

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?
I did the teacher course to deepen my own knowledge, and “fell” into teaching that way.

9. What do you love most about teaching?
I love the way yoga touches everyone so positively, and how it connects us all to each other and to ourselves, on all levels.



10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?
In a nutshell, balance, awareness, inner strength.

11. What do you love most about yoga?
I love the people who do yoga with me and I love how yoga makes me feel.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?
The challenge of correcting physical imbalances and developing a mindful mind.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?
It is never too late to start and the benefits are more than you will ever realise.

14. Do you have a regular practice?
Yes, that is essential.

15. Favourite Asana?
Adho mukha svanasana (downward dogstretch)

16. Strongest Asana?
Urdhva dhanurasana (wheel)

17. Least Favourite Asana?
None, but I can think of many asanas that are beyond me.

18. Any religious affiliations?
I don’t actively practise any religion, but embrace what I feel is good. The practice of yoga is spiritual, but has no bearing on one’s religious beliefs.

19. What are your other interests?
Reading, hiking, learning new things, family

20. Any thank yous?
Daily thanks to all my teachers, which includes everyone who comes into my life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

