Skip to content

YAA Interview: Lucille Meyer – Yogakirtee

May 8, 2012

1. Name:

Lucille Yvonne Meyer; Spiritual name Yogakirtee given by Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati.

2. DOB:

19 March 196.1

3. What style of yoga do you teach?

Integral Yoga – a combination of asana, pranayama, Yoga Nidra.

4. Where do you teach?

Ananda Kutir Ashram on a Tuesday evening and at the Satyananda Yoga centre in Claremont on a Saturday morning

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

For about 11 years.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

Since 2006. My teaching is all seva, (service).

7. Who have you trained with and where?

At the Ananda Kutir Ashram in 2006. Then three years of postgraduate studies at the Ananda Kutir Ashram from 2007 onwards. This teaching was done by Swami Parvathiananda. Also a Yoga Nidra Training course with Swami Pragyamurti Saraswati. I have also completed courses on Prana Vidya and Ajapa Dharana in Rikhia and Munger India. Currently doing a one year mindfulness course with Rob Nairn.

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

I was introduced to Yoga whilst being a political detainee in 1985 when one of my friends gave me a Yoga book written by teachers from the British Wheel of Yoga to use in solitary confinement. However I only started practising seriously from 2001/2002. My first Yoga teacher was a Srilankan national in Pretoria. When I joined the Ananda Kutir Ashram in about 2003/2004, I knew I wanted to teach a particular style of yoga that was more reflective and which allowed for students to work and develop at their own pace.

9. What do you love most about teaching?

I love witnessing the change in students over time as their bodies become more flexible and they begin to cultivate a greater sense of awareness both on and off the mat. Teaching Yoga is also enabling me to be a more conscious and consistent student. The more one teaches, the more one learns.

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

Not particularly, but I do focus on assisting students to cultivate more compassion and mindfulness during the Yoga class. I also try to convey that Yoga is not something we do, but it is who we are. Often I may read particular messages from some of the great sages and teachers.

11. What do you love most about yoga?

It has completely transformed my whole life, much more than any academic studies have in the past, notwithstanding the fact that I have three university degrees. I love that Yoga is such a complete science. It is enabling me to grow all aspects of my being. The physical, mental, emotional and the spiritual realms. It has also given me a love of Yogic philosophy which is applicable in my daily life. Lastly, I have become more compassionate and gentle with myself.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

My impatience and sometimes extraordinarily high standards.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

It is a safe practice that should be explored. However it does require consistency and conviction.

14. Do you have a regular practice?

Yes I do. I practice asana, pranayama and meditation generally from 05h30 every morning throughout the week, except on a Saturday. Over weekends and holidays these sessions will generally be longer. In the evenings, I generally do meditation and or Yoga Nidra before retiring.

15. Favourite Asana?

I cannot single out any one.

16. Strongest Asana?

I refrain from headstands as a result of a car injury in 1990.

17. Least Favourite Asana?

No least favourite.

18. Any religious affiliations?

I espouse a universal philosophy and embrace the notion that we arise from one single source.

19. What are your other interests?

I currently work as the Chief Executive Officer of the Chrysalis Academy which is a youth development organisation in Tokai. We run a three months residential programme for youth across the Western Cape. I am currently in training with Rob Nairn doing a one year mindfulness course as well as Trauma Release Exercise Therapy with Dr Melanie Salmon. I am also a budding photographer teaching myself whenever I have an opportunity.

20. Any thank yous?

I am indebted to all my teachers at the Ananda Kutir Ashram and those from within the Satyananda tradition. Above all I owe a huge gratitude to my Guru Swami Niranjanananda Saraswati who is truly the embodiment of God’s divine energy.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

