Skip to content

YAA Interview: Angela Hough-Maxwell.

June 6, 2012

1. Name:

Angela Hough-Maxwell.

2. DOB:

16.06.1971.

3. What style of yoga do you teach?

Vinyasa flow.

4. Where do you teach?

Sangha Spot Muizenberg & Yoga Within Noordhoek and have taught on Africa yoga teacher training.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

11 years.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

8 years.

7. Who have you trained with and where?

  • 200 hour Teacher Training Ashtanga Yoga Primary series,(2003)- ,Maria Taylor, St Francis bay
  • 100 hour second series teacher training with Shimon Ben Avi, Cape town 2010
  • attended Kundalini yoga workshops with Gurumukh (JHB 2010) & cape town 2011; & several retreats with Bruce van Dongen,
  • attended Vinyasa workshops with Patrick Kreelman, Cape Town (2011), Sean Corne Durban (2008), and others.

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

Wanting to be like madonna (joke)

9. What do you love most about teaching?

The community of people, friends, seeking evolution; watching people’s transformation

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

I hope compassion and acceptance

11. What do you love most about yoga?

How I feel after practice- more connected, less separate, calmer, more okay, taller.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

Mostly overcoming My-self – depression, overweight, smoking, internally rotated hip and leg, my sense of separation form others & the divine. My own evolution which surprise I am still working on….learning to trust that everything is perfect.


13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Try it.

14. Do you have a regular practice?

Yes.

15. Favourite Asana?

Many …I should be clever here and say the same pose for favourite and least favourite as we are challenged by our least favourite to bring lightness and by our favourite to bring subtle awareness… I guess Vrksasana Tree pose is my favourite and Adho Mukha Vksasana (handstand) has been my challenge, as well as padmasana

16. Any religious affiliations?

Grew up in catholic images, explored yoga sutras, mindfulness and Buddhism, love Yogi Bhajan, read Clarissa Pinkola Estes, James Hollis, Judith Anodea, Stephen Cope and David Whyte, now enjoying Alberto Villoldo’s shamanic teachings and Rudolf Stenier’s ideas.

17. What are your other interests?

My children, Ceramics, art making, group therapy, art therapy, wilderness, wild-ness, life, reading, mentoring, social development…

18. Any thank yous?

Too many…. All my teachers (those who encourage & challenge me), everyone in my life, my family, Gavin Robertson and Aldi Gronewald who were significant in the beginning of my journey in yoga and remain so, Maria Taylor for her light energy and initiation, Kevin Newell for trust in me, Justin my spiritual partner, my children are my gurus.

Angela teaches at the Sangha Spot in Muizenberg. To find out more about here classes and when she teaches click here or visit the Sangha Spot facebook page

Leave a Reply

