Skip to content

YAA Interview: Victoria Fearon

June 21, 2012

1. Name:

Victoria Fearon.

2. DOB:

7 July 1967.

3. What style of yoga do you teach?

Hatha.

4. Where do you teach?

Marina da Gama.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

12 years.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

Since 2008.

7. Who have you trained with and where?

YYI, (Young Yoga Institute), Gauteng.

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

When I was doing Iyengar yoga I realised I wanted to be at the front of the class.

9. What do you love most about teaching?

Seeing how a person can come into a class feeling stressed but leave a yoga class feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Seeing people grow through yoga. I love doing yoga therapy – helping people with medical disabilities heal through yoga. I love learning from my students.

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

I focus on body placement and alignment within a posture.

11. What do you love most about yoga?

The sense of peace it brings. I enjoy getting into a posture and feeling every single aspect of it. The layers within each pose. Yoga is a constant journey that I love.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

14 years ago I was diagnosed with MS. There is no cure. Yoga helped me to feel better. This is why I can relate to people who have health issues.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Not to be too critical of themselves and to keep trying different types of yoga.

14. Do you have a regular practice?

Yes.

15. Favourite Asana?

Trikonasana, I call it the “Airport Lounge Posture” because one can do it anywhere.

16. Strongest Asana?

Forward extensions but it depends on the time of day.

17. Least favourite asana?

Dhanurasana.

18. Any religious affiliations?

Not really. I have an Anglican background. No strong affiliations.

19. What are your other interests?

Making mosaics, reading, experimenting with food.

20. Any thank you?

Senior YYI members, especially Doreen Smit, (an inspiration in her 70’s). Martina Adelfang. So many people have inspired me along the way.

Leave a Reply

