Skip to content

YAA Interview: Vanessa Pensato.

July 5, 2012

Name: Vanessa Pensato.

DOB:

26.02.1980.

What style of yoga do you teach?

Hatha Yoga with Sivananda influence.

Where do you teach?

In Woodstock at Yoga Cape Town (www.yogacapetown.com) and in Camps Bay at the Adi Shakti Yoga Centre.

How long have you been practicing yoga?

Since 2002.

How long have you been teaching yoga?

Since 2009.

Who have you trained with and where?

The International Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Academy in Vrindavan, India and several other teachers in South Africa, Germany and India.

What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

When working in the corporate world Yoga was always my sanctuary and helped me to stay grounded. It became my passion and my interest in Yoga and the philosophy grew steadily since 2002. Finally in 2009 I followed my heart and the inner voice that has been talking to me already for a while. I left the fashion industry and went to India for my teacher training.

What do you love most about teaching?

Yoga is a gift and being able to share this gift is the most fullfilling work I could think of. Seeing how yoga changes peoples’ lives and helps them on so many different layers truly makes me happy.

Is there a focus in your teaching style?

I focus on the Asanas and how one experiences them as well as on bringing the mind into a meditative state. And of course Yoga Nidra in the end.

What do you love most about yoga?

I love the diversity and the endless possibilities that yoga offers. Practicing Yoga for me is tapping into that quiet spot within me where I can let go of musts and needs and just be without judgments or attachment.

What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

On a physical level yoga cured my shoulder pain that somedays was so bad that I couldn’t even lift my arm to brush my hair. And internally Yoga helped me to see the world from a very multi dimensional point of view and made me see myself and my picture of the world clearer and more colorful.

What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Get on the mat and have fun.

Do you have a regular practice?

Yes.

Favourite Asana?

Really depending on my day, but I can say that I generally like forward bends.

Strongest Asana?

Arm Balances like Kakasana.

Least Favourite Asana?

Ah, not too sure about that.

Any religious affiliations?

No.

What are your other interests?

I love good and healthy food, cooking, dancing and my work as a Doula, (emotional labour support), and as a Soul Connection Facilitator.

Any thank yous?

I want to thank all my teachers that have accompanied me on my journey and have inspired me deeply. And I want to thank my partner for his unconditional and endless support in every aspect of my life, without him my journey would have never been so smooth and easy.

For more information on classes with Vanessa at Yokai in Woodstock, click here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. P.H. permalink
    July 8, 2012 9:53 pm

    Nice interview! I attend her classes regularly. I have tried a few teachers over the years and I must say Vanessa’s lessons are by far best. She understands to teach you as an individual even though you might join one of her group-lessons. She never pushes too hard and rather lets you go in your own pace whilst showing you ways & tricks to improve.

  2. July 10, 2012 12:03 pm

    How wonderful to see Vanessa´s way! She´s a very very good teacher! I spent some time with her and loved her warm and really meditative way to find my inner calm. But she also can be funny and show you how easy it could be to feel your body and learn to understand it! Thank your for all the special time we spent together and I hope to see you soon in Germany 🙂

Leave a Reply

