Skip to content

YAA Interview: Kai Goertz

July 19, 2012

1. Name:

Kai Goertz.

2. DOB:

10.01.1962.

3. What style of yoga do you teach?

Power Yoga as taught by Bryan Kest.

4. Where do you teach?

Here in South Africa I teach at my studio in Woodstock, at the Marina da Gama near Muizenberg and at the garage of a former fire station in Zeekoevlei.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

About 15 years ago I first attended a yoga class. Later my boss introduced Yoga to my team as a weekly option, and we started integrating it into our work with foster families.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

About 5 years now.

7. Who have you trained with and where?

Different studios in Dortmund, Germany. Silke Bohjar, a well known German teacher, introduced power yoga to me. After having met Bryan Kest on several workshops, I decided to attend his teacher training in Tulum, Mexico. A wonderful experience!

8. What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

As a social worker I was looking for a style that I could use in my work. I was interested in the possibilities of Yoga to work with the body besides other methods of bodywork like psychodrama and body therapy.

9. What do you love most about teaching?

I love yoga and I love teaching. Leading the students from a competitive attitude towards awareness and being less judgemental and more gentle with themselves and others.

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

Improvisation, play, explore what is there today.

11. What do you love most about yoga?

Yoga doesn´t want to change you, it helps you to accept yourself the way you are.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

In my job I was constantly confronted with difficult biographies. Yoga helped me a lot in keeping the distance without losing compassion, staying calm without loosing interest and avoiding a burn out.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

First of all: give it a try with different teachers. Find the one that suits you best. Do not only make it a question of what´s the nearest place to where you live.

14. Do you have a regular practice?

I start my day with a morning meditation and after that my morning practice.

15. Favourite Asana?

That changes all the time.

16. Least Favourite Asana?

Headstand.

17. Any religious affiliations?

Nothing special, only a strong belief that the universe will provide if I don´t act against life.

18. What are your other interests?

Music, massage, cooking, biking, hiking, nature, people, animals, the power of words and thoughts.

19. Any thank yous?

To all the people I was allowed to work with, my favourite drummer Enzo, to all who supported me in the step of moving to South Africa and especially my life partner Maryatta.

For more information on classes with Kai at his studio Yokai in Woodstock, click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

