Skip to content

Mozambique Yoga Retreat Give-away

July 25, 2012

Yoga Awakening Africa in conjunction with Turtle Cove in Mozambique have an amazing yoga retreat give away for you.

IYENGAR YOGA HOLIDAY with Rhe Wessels  from 30 September to 7 October 2012.

Join us in the idyllic seaside village of Tofo in Mozambique for a rejuvenating IYENGAR Yoga Holiday, facilitated by accredited IYENGAR YOGA teacher, RHĖ WESSELS.

7 NIGHT IYENGAR HOLIDAY INCLUDES:

* Accommodation for 7 nights
* 7 x Buffet breakfasts
*3 x 2 Course meals at Turtle Cove
* One Cultural Inhambane City tour + Dhow & Dinner excursion, including return transport (from 15h00 – 20h30)
* Two yoga classes daily (except for the day of Dhow & Dinner excursion when there will be just a morning class)
* Daily group shuttle from Turtle Cove to Tofo Beach (return)

 TOFO YOGA

The yoga center, affectionately known as the Gaia Yoga Temple, holds the spirit of love with an architectural grandeur that is sure to capture the creative spirit of Yogi Travelers for the ultimate African Yoga Holiday adventure.

The Gaia Yoga Temple regularly hosts world-class yoga teachers who run workshops and retreats in conjunction with tropical bliss. After a week of balmy sun, sea and sand and inspiring yoga, you’ll leave Tofo energized with a renewed sense of vigor and enthusiasm for life.

Join us on a Yoga for Africa Retreat to restore and revive Body, Mind and Soul and FEEL TOTALLY AMAZING!

The center is equipped with yoga mats, limited Iyengar Yoga props and yoga CD’s for self practice at your own pace. Click here for more information on Turtle Cove and other yoga retreats.

How to win:

1. Tell us, in the comments section below, one aspect of Iyengar yoga that you like.

2. Please note that travel costs to and from Mozambique are NOT included. Only the yoga, food and lodging are. This means that you need to be available for the given dates and have the means to make it to Mozambique (funds and passport ready).

2. To increase your chances of winning, you can either – Like the Yoga Awakening Africa Page on Facebook OR tweet about this competition and include @yogaafrica in your tweet.

Closing date is the 1 September 2012. Winners will be notified by email.

______________________________________

Congratulations to Kashmiri!!! You are our Mozambique winner.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. teresa permalink
    July 25, 2012 1:14 pm

    The holding of the postures for longer periods 🙂

  2. July 25, 2012 7:20 pm

    Having been a YAA facebook fan for a while, I enter with this comment. I like the Presision with which Iyengar yoga is appoached. The small details matter inside the body’s balance!
    Thx Corinne

  3. Ninon permalink
    July 26, 2012 6:48 am

    I love the fact that you focus on precise body aligment and then hold the poses for long periods.

  4. July 27, 2012 1:11 pm

    I love the alignment and focus of small, correct detail of each posture. But my favourite thing about Iyengar yoga is the fact that it is based on the 8 limbs of yoga – not only are they important in our practice but I really believe that the 8 limbs of yoga should be part of our every day life! I think the world would be a much more peaceful place if everyone put them into practice 🙂

  5. Cheryl Lancellas permalink
    August 2, 2012 2:47 pm

    The very important attention to detail in each asana

  6. August 4, 2012 3:10 pm

    I like that it uses props, which enables beginners to do the poses (asanas) more easily 🙂

  7. August 7, 2012 9:05 am

    Lyenger yoga is a great form of yoga to de-stress the body, mind and spirit is a safe and secure way.

  8. August 7, 2012 10:03 am

    I like the attention to detail re correct body alignment. xx

  9. August 8, 2012 11:45 am

    Attention to detail

  10. Julia permalink
    August 8, 2012 12:34 pm

    I like the fact that with Igengar Yoga if the body is aligned with precision then the breath is aligned with the same precision. If the breath is balanced then the mind, emotions and senses become balanced…

  11. Elana Rabinowitz permalink
    August 9, 2012 3:38 pm

    Iyengar is the only method of yoga that has taught me how to get in touch with my whole body giving me freedom, strength and a feeling of connectedness to something greater than myself

  12. August 11, 2012 10:49 am

    I love the timings means postures are held for considerable lengths of time to let the effects of the poses penetrate deeper within the individual

  13. August 11, 2012 11:08 am

    I Love its revitalizing sequences

  14. August 11, 2012 11:17 am

    Love its length of holding poses deepening its effect in rejuvenating body and mind

  15. Losh Kisten permalink
    August 14, 2012 8:43 am

    The most amazing aspect for me is the result of Iyengar yoga and that is the eliminating aches and pains, improving posture and the treatment of many ailments, including extremely serious medical conditions..that for me is fantastic …:-)

  16. Philippa permalink
    August 19, 2012 12:52 pm

    I love that it makes you a stronger person both mentally and physically!

  17. Shannon permalink
    August 19, 2012 4:55 pm

    I love the focus on the correctness of the postures, the use of props, and the mental peace it brings me.

  18. Kinga permalink
    August 20, 2012 12:07 pm

    “Yoga is a light, which once lit, will never dim. The better your practice, the brighter the flame.” Iyengar

    This quote helps me everyday to wake up at the same time and do my practices. Iyenger Yoga teaches you patience and awareness of your body, your inner life and your relationships. The accurate alignment helps to understand all the details that are happening in the body and shows how beautiful small things can be.

    “An asana is not a posture which you assume mechanically. It involves thought, at the end of which a balance is achieved between movement and resistance.” Iyengar

  19. August 20, 2012 6:31 pm

    Mr.B.K.S.Iyengar is a true inspiration – having faced his personal physical challenges and developed a painstakingly meticulous yet profound body of yogic knowledge which has assisted many to remedy their ailments through it’s therapeutic approach.

    This style of yoga demands a level of discipline which can only be fuelled by the practitioners spiritual fervour. People of all shapes and sizes can learn to increase their vitality and health through dedicated practice and that simple desire to better themselves by nurturing their bodies.

  20. August 21, 2012 9:09 pm

    I like the fact that Iyengar of Yoga is based around a slow but sure progression from basic postures to more advanced ones. I like it because you can push yourself to your edge based on your level of practice. The progression also helps one build up flexibility and strength and in mind body and spirit which is critical to any yoga journey, and practice!

  21. Sue Gartlan permalink
    August 23, 2012 5:49 pm

    The precision of Iyengar yoga aided by the use of props helps the body to get the poses right, and also feels good: I especially love the baby whale. My Hatha Yoga teacher friend goes to Iyengar classes for her own practice: it seems Iyengar Yoga is the “royal path”.

  22. August 23, 2012 7:41 pm

    Iyengar Yoga has offered me an essential foundation for my yoga practice, I can call on the knowledge that Iyengar yoga offered my body to ensure that I am in integrity with each posture I arrive in. Iyengar is the place to start as it informs all your other experiences of yoga so deeply.

  23. August 24, 2012 1:07 pm

    I always learn from the verbal instructions which are always particularly intuitive in Iyenger classes (especially those of David Jacobs!) which I can then incorporate into my own teaching, ever the student 🙂

  24. August 27, 2012 5:44 am

    I used to suffer from panic attacks. Through Iyengar Yoga and Pranayama I learnt to Serve, Love, Give, Purify, Be Good, Do Good, Be Kind, Meditate, Realize, BE COMPASSIONATE! And most of all I learnt to be at one with myself and relax. It has helped me so much. I’m not saying it is a cure – I’m saying it is a lifestyle that everyone should adopt. I appreciate it to the ends of this earth.

  25. Martine Docherty permalink
    August 27, 2012 6:01 am

    Iyengar Yoga, created by B. K. S. Iyengar, is a form of Hatha Yoga known for its use of props, such as belts, blocks, and blankets, as aids in performing asanas (postures). The props enable students to perform the asanas correctly, minimising the risk of injury or strain, and making the postures accessible to both young and old. The development of strength, mobility and stability are emphasized through the asanas.

    What I like about it, helping me strengthen my balance and core. Something I struggle with. Thank you for the opportunity to win a great prize. I’ve only done Yoga a few times. So I’m not that good at it. “Blush”

  26. Martine Docherty permalink
    August 27, 2012 9:07 pm

    I like everything! 😉

  27. Vanessa permalink
    August 29, 2012 1:13 pm

    I love that it requires both physical and mental focus. The effects are extremely beneficial to me

  28. August 30, 2012 12:17 pm

    When I do an Iyengar class, I am always amazed at the careful, subtle attention to detail, working small adjustments which I can carry into my regular practice. The last class I did I realised I had never actually been corrected into doing Chaturanga Dandasana as it should be done – a pose I have done 100s of times in other classes. (And boy is it hard to do when you’ve actually got your arms and hands where they should be!). I would love the opportunity to sink more deeply into this style of yoga, in a place I have long wanted to visit … pick me!

Leave a Reply

