Skip to content

YAA Interview: Saskia Schelling

July 26, 2012

1. Name: Saskia Schelling.

2. DOB: 22 February 1974.

3. What style of yoga do you teach? Hatha or Vinyasa.

4. Where do you teach? From my home studio in Tokai.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga? Since 1999.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga? 3 years.

7. Who have you trained with and where? I completed my teachers training with Jim Harrington in Cape Town. I have attended as many workshops and classes as possible with Shimon Ben Avi, Swami Pragyamurti and Glen Ross Hudson and the other amazing local teachers right here in Cape Town.

8. What led you to yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach? After I had my first child a friend recommended, (ok – ‘insisted’), that I join her at her yoga classes in the City Bowl. The yoga teacher I went to really inspired me, so I would make every effort to drive all the way to town from Glencairn. I didn’t make a conscious decision to teach yoga. It flowed and evolved. I was really sad when my yoga teacher went to Dubai and once I had moved past the sadness, I felt inspired to teach; to create a space to share with others the beautiful unfolding process of a yoga practice.

9. What do you love most about teaching? The gifts that the students bring to me. Teaching yoga ultimately has been the gift. I love that yoga helps me to ‘let go’ and ‘trust in the process.’

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style? Harmonising of the breath and flow of the breath within the asanas, (postures). Finding the balance between effort and surrender to facilitate pure simple Awareness. Finding this place of peace that we may not realise we have access to all the time.

11. What do you love most about yoga? It’s a never ending beautiful journey that’s always unfolding. Yoga does you. The benefits are compounded far beyond what your mind can comprehend. It’s working you more than you think.

12. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga? Trusting in the unfolding of the process whatever that process may be on that particular day. On the mat and off the mat too.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga? If you feel compelled to try it or wonder about doing it – Do it! Yoga finds you when you are ready.

14. Do you have a regular practice? Yes.

15. Favourite Asana? Hmm, this constantly shifts as one’s practice evolves. At the moment I enjoy the inversions particularly sarvangasana, the headstands and forward bends.

16. Strongest Asana? Hip openers like Gomukhasana and Uttanasana Pristhasana, (Lizard Pose).

17. Least favourite asana? At the moment: Upavistha Konasana.

18. Any religious affiliations? No.

19. What are your other interests? Gardening, permaculture, outdoors, kids, reading, painting, travel.

20. Any thank yous? There are so many ‘thank yous’. I’m so grateful, always: To my beautiful supportive family; to students who come in many forms; to the amazing people I have met on the yoga journey; to my wonderfully patient and inspiring teachers – all of them! And to my Dear Friend who insisted that I join her in town for my very first yoga class. My deepest Gratitude to you All!

Leave a Reply

