Skip to content

YAA Interview: Kate Ball

August 2, 2012

1. Name: Kate Ball.

2. DOB: 17 June 1983.

3. What style of yoga do you teach? Vinyasa and a little bit of Bikram.

4. Where do you teach? YogaSpirit.

5. How long have you been practicing yoga? 7 years.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga? 5 and a half years.

7. Who have you trained with and where? Maria Taylor – St. Francis Bay and Ana Forrest – Chicago.

8. What led you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach? Yoga is the most useful life tool I’ve ever encountered. I felt a deep desire to share this system with other people. I made the decision to become a teacher about three weeks into my practice.

9. What do you love most about teaching? I see people in a different way. I’m able to practice non-judgement in a way that’s not as accessible outside of the yoga room. I love watching people heal through yoga.

10. Is there a focus in your teaching style? Every class I teach evolves in its own way but I like to incorporate a sense of possibility and creativity within each session.

11. What do you love most about yoga? It’s a reliable support system. 99% of what I’m going through, yoga will make better. Yoga can be a great friend.

12. What is the greatest challenge you are overcoming with the help of yoga? Accepting my body.

13. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga? Go to a beginner class initially and forge a regular yoga routine right from day 1.

14. Do you have a regular practice? Yes.

15. Favourite Asana? Handstand, it’s a great teacher.

16. Strongest Asana? Warrior 2.

17. Least favourite asana? Kurmasana, (tortoise).

18. Any religious affiliations? I try to be receptive to the beauty in all of them.

19. What are your other interests? Design, graphics, writing, literature, nature and hiking.

20. Any thank yous? My family, certain key people who saw the potential in me and nurtured it, (you know who you are), and the YogaSpirit community.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

