Skip to content

YAA Interview: Briony Kramer

August 16, 2012

1.           Name: Briony Kramer.

2.           DOB: 24 April 1987.

3.           What style of yoga do you teach? Vinyasa.

4.           Where do you teach? Body Excel, Stonehurst.

5.           How long have you been practicing yoga? 7 years.

6.           How long have you been teaching yoga? 1 year.

7.           Who have you trained with and where? Africa Yoga in St. Francis Bay.

8.           What led you to yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach? Yoga helped me to manage my anxiety. I had a “calling” to teach.

9.           What do you love most about teaching? It brings me straight into the present moment.

10.        Is there a focus in your teaching style? Mindfulness.

11.        What do you love most about yoga? It helps me de-stress.

12.        What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga? Dealing with my anxiety.

13.        What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga? Try a beginners class or  go with a friend.

14.        Do you have a regular practice? I try my best to have a regular practice because consistency in practice reaps the biggest rewards.

15.        Favourite Asana? Seated forward fold – paschimottanasana.

16.        Strongest Asana? Forward folds.

17.        Least favourite asana? Handstand or headstand!

18.        Any religious affiliations? No.

19.        What are your other interests? Coffee, reading, blogging, psychology.

20.        Any thank yous? All the lovely teachers and students that have encouraged me along the way. A big thank you goes out to Sarah Stone-Francisco, a great mentor who inspired me at the beginning of my yoga journey. I would also like to thank the very beautiful yogi, Carryn Smit, for recently inspiring me to get back onto the mat.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Stone-Francisco permalink
    September 7, 2012 3:58 pm

    Hi Briony!!

    I haven’t kept up with all of the YAA’s since being back in the US, but I did take a look at this one and saw your name and that you were being featured! How awesome!

    It’s so wonderful that you are teaching! What an amazing experience. I’m so happy for you that you’ve been given this amazing gift of yoga in your life, and how truly beautiful it is for Cape Town that they get to experience your gift of service through your teaching!

    Life is wonderful here in San Francisco. Our beautiful girl is almost 1.5years old and the most amazing teacher I ever could have asked for! I’ve started teaching again and it feels so good to be able to serve in that way. And we’ll be offering a teacher training in feb, so I’m really excited about that, too!

    I’d love to keep in touch!

    Much love and light to you and everyone at YAA! Reading these newsletters still makes me feel connected to the South African yoga community, and I really appreciate that! Keep up the amazing work!

    Love, sarah

Trackbacks

  1. Sri Sri Event in Cape Town Update. « Yoga Awakening Africa News
  2. Yoga in Cape Town. « Yoga Awakening Africa News

Leave a Reply

