Skip to content

The Eleven Moods of a Woman – A Moon Moods Workshop with Pritam Kaur Khalsa.

August 24, 2012

The Eleven Moods of a Woman – A Moon Moods Workshop with Pritam Kaur Khalsa. 

On the Saturday 28th July I joined a wonderful group of women at Gururamdas for a workshop with Pritam Kaur Khalsa who heads up Kundalini Yoga in South Africa. I got to know Pritam when we started publishing Yoga Awakening Africa back in 2008 and over the years she has always been willing and able to share her unbelievable and vast knowledge of Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan with enthusiasm and dedication. So when she invited me to take part in her Moon Moods workshop I was both excited and a little nervous as it included working with a pendulum, (which I haven’t done in quite a long time). However, anything that would shed a little more light on helping me to understand why I experience 101 emotions in the space of one month was definitely most welcome. I mean is it really normal to feel like a bookworm and a complete introvert one day, a party animal and risk taker the next, feeling like being creative and romantic one moment and then all business orientated the next? Is this what being a woman is like because it can get quite confusing and debilitating, or am I on the verge of a multiple personality disorder?!?!

So I headed to the workshop with the underlying motive of finding out if I am actually a “normal” functioning woman, (or a nutcase like my brothers have been telling me for years!) The theory and workshop is based on the fact that as a woman we are directly associated with the moon and its phases. “According to yogic teachings, a woman has eleven lunar centres, which activate in her body in a 28-day cycle, spending 2 and a half days at each location in the body.” These locations include the arcline, eyebrows, cheeks, earlobes, lips, neck, breasts, navel, clitoris, vagina and inner thighs, (to understand the meaning of these taking part in the workshop is hugely beneficial of course).

By using the pendulum one is able to find out one’s own unique sequence which is set from birth. Knowing this helps us to determine the different characteristic traits, one’s strengths, weaknesses, differing moods etc. that we may experience at certain times of the month and at varying degrees of intensity. If one utilises this knowledge and awakens to the subtle ebb and flow in both our emotional and spiritual life, it can help us to schedule and organize our lives in a more proactive and desirable way to ensure that the best opportunities arise and are utilised. One example that I can relate to very well to is wanting to plan ahead in time to hold a party or an event, on the day when all the planning happens I am full of energy and enthusiasm, but Murphy’s Law, when the actual day arises, the last thing I’m in the mood for is hanging out and partying with friends! So having played with my pendulum and discovered my unique sequence and getting a slightly better idea as to how my energy and moods flow, is starting to help me schedule doing and hosting certain activities when they would be most suitable and desirable for me.

So far so good! And I look forward to using this knowledge to see how it is able to bring about a more stable and clearer understanding of my ever changing and volatile moods, (I’m sure my brothers would be hugely grateful to me and Pritam of course), if I am able to control my emotional state in a slightly more proactive manner!

Many thanks to Pritam, Anton and Illana as well as all the wonderful ladies who took part in the workshop. It never ceases to amaze me how special it is to work with a group of like-minded people.

Namaste`

Nina is the founder of Yoga Awakening Africa and has been teaching integral hatha yoga, (Sivananda yoga) since 2003 in Cape Town. She loves spending time in her yoga studio with her students, up the mountain with her hiking buddies, around a dinner table with her friends, and when she can spending time in bed reading a good book with Kat and some Lindt chocolates. She believes that health equals balance in life, enjoying what you do and doing what you enjoy, and to never take yourself too seriously! nina@yogaaa.co.za | www.saacks.com

________________________________

This is what others had to say about the workshop:

This has been such an incredible eye opener to me. I love that I can now sense where all these different fluctuating and undulating moods and emotions come from. I feel so much more fluid and ‘in’ my body. Have had many ‘aahhhaa’ moments since the workshop…. Pritam my gratitude once more knows no bounds!

Namaste from a so not nebulous navel point…

Cassandra CollinsYOGA ODYSSEY

I wish for all women to know about their Moon points – what a handy tool in the bag. I live and teach Kundalini Yoga in the Montagu countryside and have a guest farm cottage www.vredenshoogte.co.za where people can retreat from the hurly burly. Relax, recharge and revitalize with yoga, walks, and reconnecting to nature.

Here’s some info on the next Moon Moods Workshop with Pritam

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maya Haripal Kaur permalink
    September 3, 2012 9:30 pm

    It was such a lovely workshop. Really useful for a women to get to know her moon moods ~ every women has a unique sequence! Sat nam.

Leave a Reply

