Skip to content

YAA Interview: Jim Harrington

September 27, 2012

Name:

Jim Harrington.

DOB:

October 1966, Sydney, Australia.

What style of yoga do you teach?

A mixture of influences. Based in Ashtanga and Taoist yoga, I work with whichever tools in the toolbox will work for the job.

Where do you teach?

Cape Town, India, Jo-Burg and Bali sometimes. I specialize in Teacher Training Courses and pro sports teams. (click here to check out his website for teacher training courses and workshops)

How long have you been practising yoga?

About 25 years. Yoga mats were not invented then and teachers were scarce.

How long have you been teaching yoga?

Since1993. The past ten years in Cape Town.

Who have you trained with and where?

It’s a long list. I was self taught at first and picked up whatever I could find from anyone who seemed to know something about yoga. Main Influences were Iyengar style with Bramacharya, Rudra Dev in Rishikesh, a Saddhu Baba with no name in the Himalayas, Master Lee in Taiwan, Tan Santikaro, Clive Sheridon, Simon Borg- Olivier, Bianca Machliss, Shandor Remete, Danny Paradise and Shimon Ben Avi

What lead you to teaching yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

I started teaching friends in Sydney 1993 after three years of learning in Asia. I didn’t really know much but a close friend was very sick with M.E. so I took it upon myself to try to help him with daily yoga. It worked and he got back to full strength in 6 weeks. That proved to me the potential for healing with yoga.

What do you love most about teaching?

I love the results of yoga practice. It makes people light up and lighten up. I like to see light bulbs switch on.

Is there a focus in your teaching style?

Recently I have been working with a lot of pro sportsmen, so I guess that is a focus. It’s about adaptation. I draw on lots of tools to help the individual get the most out of the yoga practices. More generally, my focus is quite physical. I use yoga to balance out the body’s strength and flexibility. This brings vitality and the ability to be still. Ultimately, the mental stillness trumps everything else. (click here to check out an article on Jim teaching the Delhi Daredevils)

What do you love most about yoga?

Sitting quietly and playing on the edge.

What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

Fear. Surfing big waves can be terrifying. I use mantra and breath focus to stay calm. Yoga has taught me that any moment is going to pass. No matter how uncomfortable, it can be gotten through.

www.jimharringtonyoga.com | Phone: +27 826425256

Leave a Reply

