Skip to content

YAA Interview: Ian du Toit.

October 11, 2012

1. Name:

Ian du Toit.

2. DOB:

30 Jan 1958.

3. What style of yoga do you teach?

Hatha.

4. Where do you teach?

I taught at Klein Joostenberg until the end of August and I’m now planning to start teaching closer to where I live, (Northern Suburbs).

5. How long have you been practicing yoga?

I started practising yoga in 2000.

6. How long have you been teaching yoga?

I started teaching in 2011, I did my teacher trainers course in 2009.

7. Who have you trained with and where?

Sandra Smith at the Durbanville Yoga Centre.

8. Is there a focus in your teaching style?

Gentle, caring, light-hearted and not too esoteric.

9. What do you love most about yoga?

The connection it gives me to the present. Feeling calm, radiant and refreshed after yoga and of course also seeing students feeling the same after a class. Also the healing aspect.

10. What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

I’m still working on stilling my mind. On a physical level my back problems, (I suffer from scoliosis).

11. What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Try it at least once, if you don’t connect to the teacher, try a different one. Don’t look at the most complicated postures with the attitude of ‘I can’t do that’ – yoga is a lot more than just postures. Remember its non-competitive and forget the ‘no-pain-no-gain’ attitude.

12. Do you have a regular practice?

Yes, it isn’t extensive at present, but I focus on working my core to ensure I don’t suffer with back problems. I am experimenting more with meditation at the moment.

13. Favourite Asana?

Savasana, (only joking!), Ardha Chandrasana, Bhakasana, Kumbhakasana, (Plank).

14. Strongest Asana?

Chaturanga Dandasana, Parsvakonasana and Parivrtta Parvakonasana.

15. Least Favourite Asana?

Janu Sirsasana, Parsva Upavista Konasana.

16. Any religious affiliations?

No.

17. What are your other interests?

Music, science, art, sport, food, everything related to health. I’m fascinated with energy healing, (I dabbled a bit with reiki a few years ago).

18. Any thank yous?

Sandra Smith who has taught me everything I know.

Sandra Smith is offering a Yoga Teachers Training Course in Durbanville Cape Town, Jan 2013: This is what Ian had so say about his experience during the course.

1) What motivated you to decide to do the teacher training course?

I started classes with Sandra Smith in 2000 and in 2009 she suggested that I undertake the teacher training course. I took some time to consider doing the course, because I didn’t think it would be easy studying again at my age! I like working with people, (and care for people), and I thought it would be something that I can do when I retire from my 9-5 job.

2) What was the teacher training like you for you?

It was tougher than I expected. It was a part time course over 9 months. It was a great course; I just feel that we need to update the way in which we teach this ancient philosophy using present technology to make it more accessible.

The teacher training course was great, because I learnt a lot more over this period than during my regular class attendance. There was a lot more theory as well as trying to remember all the Sanskrit names and terminology. I enjoyed it and the depth of my yoga increased as well as my spiritual side become clearer. I found the sutras quite difficult and the philosophy of the 8 limbs interesting. I also realised that once I started teaching that nothing prepares you for teaching like actually having to teach. The nice things about doing Sandra’s course is that we were a small group which gave us the time and space to explore more aspects of yoga and the connection with fellow students.

3) How has this knowledge and training impacted your own personal practice?

It deepened my awareness of alignment, my spiritual side, pranayama, stilling of the mind as well as the observation of my students.

For more information on the next Teacher Training click here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 10:55 am

    Hey buddy its such a nice article.You are among information available here. Thanks to share this post.

Leave a Reply

