Skip to content

YAA Interview: Candice Helena.

November 1, 2012

1.       Name:  

Candice Helena.

2.       DOB:

28 July 1987.

3.       What style of yoga do you teach?   

Yoga Flow. Vinyasa. (soon Forrest Yoga).

4.       Where do you teach?  

LiveLoveYoga studio. Privates, corporates, (Pretoria & Johannesburg). www.liveloveyoga.co.za

5.       How long have you been practising yoga?

3 years.

6.       How long have you been teaching yoga?

1 and half years.

7.       Who have you trained with and where?  

Haum of Yoga, Kerry Weavind, (JHB). In March 2013, Forrest Yoga in Cape Town with Ana Forrest.

8.       What led you to yoga and at what point did you decide that you wanted to teach?

I have always been curious about the mind and that of others as I started my journey of yoga I seeked more to find out more about life and discover deeper parts of myself. As I did my teacher’s training as a course for self growth a part of me just felt that this was what I’m meant to do and from the opening of my studio LiveLoveYoga it just become clear that this is what I’m meant to do.

9.       What do you love most about teaching?

I love the way yoga challenges you in many aspects that can be seen in your life. Yoga has helped me to transform as it  calls for self observation. I love that you never stop learning with yoga.

10.   Is there a focus in your teaching style?

I love to go with the flow, having a time for seriousness and deep focus to a time of play and letting go. I encourage students to be content and to enjoy the process of progressing and listening to your body.

11.   What do you love most about yoga?

That it is my lifestyle and that I never stop learning through yoga. It brings me closer to a part of myself I seek.  I love that it empowers people to be their own healer and to work through their own personal stuff and see their own beauty.

12.   What is the greatest challenge you have overcome with the help of yoga?

Yoga has helped me to make big decisions in my personal life. It lead me to be true to myself,  being as I am… ‘know thy self’. It has given my life more meaning and purpose.

13.   What advice do you have for people who have never tried yoga?

Just get on the mat and give it a try… yoga is for everyone… for any age… and any reason from physical, spiritual, health to lifestyle.

14.   Do you have a regular practice?

Yes, daily with one rest day a week.

15.   Favourite Asana?

Eee… so many, probably Pinca Mayurasana.

16.   Strongest Asana?

Urdhva Dhanurasana.

17.   Least Favourite Asana?

Navasana.

18.   What are your other interests?

Reading, music, long walks, good talks, learning, breathing, meeting new people, culture, life.

20.   Any thank yous?

To my family and my partner, Roby, for all their support and love.

 

Leave a Reply

