Skip to content

Yoga in Cape Town.

July 13, 2012

I have travelled to all sorts of different yoga studios in Cape Town. Yoga has taken me to studios close to me, (in Constantia), and much further away – such as Blouberg. My yoga journey in Cape Town started at Virgin Active Gym in Constantia. They offered my favourite form of yoga – Ashtanga. I left Virgin Active after my favourite teacher, Leora, stopped working there. I had to search for a studio that offered more of a spiritual feel. That was when I ventured to town. Most of the ‘real’ yoga seemed to be happening there. I found an awesome yogi, Sarah, who taught me Ashtanga in an office block on Strand Street. She then opened up her own space called “It’s Yoga Cape Town” in Blouberg. Too lazy to drive all the way to Blouberg, I decided to move to Ulrike’s Ashtanga space called Shanti. I also experimented with other studios and yoga styles because I had become so curious about this beautiful ‘exercise’. I tried the famous YogaZone, the cool Karma Shala (now known as The Shala), and other smaller home studios around my own area.  I tried the gorgeous YogaLife, in the trendy De Waterkant, (it was so close to my college), and even gave weird Kundalini a try at GuruRamDas. I was delighted when YogaSpirit opened up in Constantia Village because it was close to my house and it offered a wide range of classes. I happily joined YogaSpirit and then last year I did my 200hr teacher training in St. Francis Bay. After that I taught a little bit, joined the Yoga Awakening Africa team, and have been fortunate enough to have been given the opportunity to interview yoga teachers and review yoga spaces in Cape Town. Recently, I have tried some cool yoga spaces in Muizenberg. I am still hoping to try many more studios and meet many more yoga teachers.

_______________________________________________________

Briony Kramer is currently studying psychology, teaching yoga and working for Yoga Awakening Africa. To ensure she experiences your studio the next time she’s in your area be sure to contact her via email at brionyster@gmail.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

